English | Français


Services

Family

Our firm is dedicated to the practice of family separation and divorce, child custody, spousal support, property division and other related topics.

Family separation and strife is difficult but our committed lawyers and staff are prepared and willing to help you through the emotional rollercoaster and difficult decisions. We understand that things can get confusing and there is more involved in each individual case than what is simply on a piece of paper. We want you to feel comfortable with your choices. With our guidance, we will help you make the most informed decision and present all available options.


Assisted Reproductive Law

Sometimes, love is not enough to start a family. Whether it is infertility, biological incompatibility, sexual orientation or a medical condition, nature has its ways to refrain the kindest loving “wannabe parents” to procreate and adoption is not always the most appropriate or preferred option. Thankfully, in today’s age, it is possible to overcome these issues with assisted reproduction techniques.

Whether you are seeking a gamete donation, need the help of a surrogate mother, or want to help a friend or relative by donating your gametes or be a surrogate, we can help you understand and prepare for the legal challenges associated with assisted reproduction techniques so you can focus on yourself and your family.


Last Will and Testament

A Last Will and Testament is a document that sets out your wishes for how you would like your property to be distributed upon your death. It can also cover particulars like guardianship of minor child(ren), instructions for pets and special bequests. In the document, you will assign an Executor/Executrix, who will be responsible for administering your Estate until its final distribution. We will help guide you through the process of crafting a legally binding document that will eliminate any uncertainties on how your Estate will be handled and present peace of mind for you during your lifetime.

If you would like to do up a Last Will and Testament (and/or a Power of Attorney) but have mobility issues and live in the Hanwell/Charters Settlement area, our lawyers are willing to meet with you at your home. Please contact our office to make arrangements.


Committee of the Person

When people become incapable of taking the decisions regarding their health and managing their affairs, they need someone to do it for them. Life happens and often time people are not ready for these incapacities. When there is no valid power of attorney in place, the Court needs to appoint someone to manage the financial affairs and/or personal care of the incapable person. We can help you prepare all the necessary documents to apply to the Court for a Committee of the Person and represent you in court so you can focus on caring for your relative.


Power of Attorney

In the event of medical illness or prolonged absences from home, be they planned or unexpected, or a part of a degenerative disease or condition, a Power of Attorney allows you to decide who will make critical decisions regarding your health and property. Without a Power of Attorney, your loves ones will face difficult legal processes, that often take considerable time and money, to be able to manage your affairs when you can not.


Residential Real Estate

We at McCordic Law & Mediation recommend that when you are buying or selling a property, you consult with a lawyer prior to signing any documentation. We can help you review any agreement(s), as once signed, they become legally binding. These types of transactions can be quite complicated due to the property rights being transferred, money being exchanged and federal and provincial legislation governing the contract. Therefore, allow us to lead you through your responsibilities and obligations towards any purchase/sale you wish to enter into.


Mediation

The process of mediation is where a third neutral party assists and helps disputing parties in resolving conflicts using various techniques. Ms. McCordic will act as a mediator and not a lawyer for either party during the process. Once an agreement has been reached, each party will be required to secure independent legal advice. We have a large boardroom on site that we use during mediation and this can be booked through our receptionist. We offer a private and confidential location where you can negotiate in peace and focus on the aim of settling the dispute, and moving the families forward into their new reality.

English | Français


Services

Droit de la famille

Notre cabinet se spécialise en droit de la famille et vous aidera avec les questions juridiques reliées à votre séparation, votre divorce, les questions de garde d’enfant, de pension alimentaire, de division des biens et autres sujets reliés.

Le bris de l’unité familiale et les conflits matrimoniaux qui en découlent peuvent être difficiles à surmonter. Heureusement, nos avocates sont compétentes et engagées. Elles vous supporteront à travers ces montagnes russes émotionnelles et cette période de décisions difficiles. Nous comprenons que les choses peuvent facilement devenir compliquées et qu’il y a plus en jeu que ce qui est indiqué sur un bout de papier. Nous voulons que vous soyez à l’aise avec vos décisions. Grâce à nos conseils, vous prendrez une décision éclairée et nous vous présenterons toutes les options possibles.


Aspects légaux de la procréation assistée

Il n’est parfois pas suffisant de s’aimer pour fonder une famille. Que vos difficultés résultent de l’infertilité d’un.e conjoint.e, d’une incompatibilité biologique avec votre partenaire, de votre orientation sexuelle ou de votre état de santé, la nature a le don de freiner vos ambitions de procréer et l’adoption n’est pas toujours la solution appropriée à votre situation. Heureusement, il est possible de nos jours de satisfaire votre désir d’enfant grâce à des techniques de reproduction assistée.

Que vous soyez à la recherche de gamètes, d’une mère porteuse ou êtes simplement altruiste et voulez aider un proche à concevoir un enfant, nous pouvons vous aider à comprendre et à vous préparer pour les défis juridiques associés aux techniques de reproduction assistée pour que vous puissiez vous concentrer sur vous et votre famille.


Planification successorale

Un testament est un document qui établit vos volontés concernant la distribution de vos biens après votre mort. Vous pouvez également décider du tuteur de vos enfants mineurs, donner des instructions concernant vos animaux et créer d’autres legs spéciaux. Dans ce document, vous allez désigner un exécuteur testamentaire qui sera responsable de l’administration de votre succession. Nous vous guiderons à travers les étapes et rédigeront un document légal qui éliminera certaines inquiétudes pour vous assurer la tranquillité d’esprit.

Si vous voulez préparer votre testament mais ne pouvez pas vous déplacer, nos avocates peuvent vous rencontrer ailleurs. Veuillez contacter nos bureaux pour faire des arrangements


Curatelle

Quand une personne devient incapable de prendre les décisions qui concernent son état de santé et la gestion de ses biens, quelqu’un doit le faire pour elle. La vie nous prend parfois de court et il arrive qu’on ne soit pas prêt à toute éventualité. Lorsqu’une personne devient incapable et n’a pas de procuration valide en vigueur, un juge doit nommer un curateur pour prendre les décisions concernant son état de santé et la gestion de ses biens. Nous pouvons vous aider à préparer les documents nécessaires et présenter une requête devant la Cour pour obtenir une curatelle. De cette façon, vous pouvez concentrer vos énergies à vous occuper de vos proches.


Procuration

Dans le cas d’une maladie grave ou d’une absence prolongée de la maison, qu’elles soient planifiées ou non, ou le résultat d’une maladie ou condition dégénérative, une procuration vous permet de décider qui prendra les décisions concernant vos soins et vos biens. Sans procuration, vos êtres chers seront confrontés à des processus juridiques compliqués, coûteux en temps et en argent pour être en mesure de gérer vos affaires lorsque vous n’êtes pas en mesure de le faire.


Droit immobilier résidentiel

Chez McCordic Law & Mediation, nous recommandons de consulter un avocat avant de signer quoi que ce soit lorsque vous achetez ou vendez une propriété. Vous devriez réviser tout contrat puisqu’une fois signé, vous devrez l’honorer. Les transactions immobilières peuvent être compliquées en raison des droits de propriété transferés, des argents échangés et de la législation en vigueur. En somme, laissez-nous vous guider à travers ces responsabilités et obligations concernant l’achat ou la vente d’une maison.


Médiation

Lors d’une médiation, une partie neutre aide les parties à résoudre leur conflit en utilisant diverses techniques. Madame McCordic agira comme médiatrice et non comme avocate durant le processus. Lorsque les parties s’entendent à l’issue de la médiation, elles devront obtenir un avis juridique indépendant. Nous avons une grande salle de conférence où vous pouvez négocier en toute tranquillité et vous concentrer sur le règlement de votre litige, votre famille et aller de l’avant.